### List of countries in the scope

# of the EU assessment on high risk third countries under Directive (EU) 2015/849 and

list of priority 1 countries (for assessment in 2018)

#### I. List of countries in the scope of the EU assessment

In accordance with its <u>methodology</u> for identifying high risk third countries under Directive (EU) 2015/849<sup>1</sup>, Commission services have identified jurisdictions falling within the scope of the EU autonomous assessment. To this end, Commission services have applied a set of non-cumulative criteria to all third countries/jurisdictions<sup>2</sup> in the world (217 jurisdictions). Countries were selected for further analysis if they meet at least one of the following criteria:

- (1) Countries identified by Europol/EEAS as having a systemic impact on the integrity of the EU financial system.
- (2) Jurisdictions reviewed by the International Monetary Fund as international offshore financial centres.
- (3) Economic relevance considering the magnitude of the financial centres and the strength of economic ties with the EU.

The Commission services thus identified **132 jurisdictions** that will be further analysed to identify whether they present strategic deficiencies (assessment over 2018-2025). It is important to stress that the above-mentioned indicators alone are not sufficient to draw conclusions at this stage on whether a jurisdiction has strategic deficiencies in its AML/CFT regime. **The presence of a jurisdiction on the list only means that it is subject to an assessment by the Commission. This does not in any way prejudge the final outcome of these assessments.** 

As set out in the methodology, the scoping remains a flexible tool. The Commission may review at any moment the scoping to cover additional countries in case of material changes or new information that would impact the outcome of the scoping.

Afghanistan
Albania
Algeria
American Samoa
Andorra
Anguilla
Antigua and Barbuda
Argentina
Armenia
Aruba
Australia

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Methodology for identifying high risk third countries under Directive (EU) 2015/849, SWD(2018) 362 final,

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> EU Member States and EEA countries are excluded from this exercise

Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados **Belarus** Belize Bermuda **Bolivia** Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil **British Virgin Islands** Cabo Verde Cameroon Canada Cayman Islands Chile China China, Hong Kong SAR China, Macao SAR Colombia Congo Cook Islands Costa Rica Côte d'Ivoire Curaçao Dominica **Dominican Republic** Ecuador Egypt Faroe Islands former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Gambia Georgia Greenland Grenada Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guyana Honduras India Indonesia Iran (Islamic Republic of) Iraq Isle of Man

Jamaica
Japan
Jersey
Jordan
Kazakhstan
Kenya
Korea, Republic of
Kosovo <sup>3</sup>
Kyrgyzstan
Lebanon
Libya
Malaysia
Maldives
Marshall Islands
Mauritania
Mauritius
Mexico
Moldova
Monaco
Mongolia
Montenegro
Montserrat
Morocco
Namibia
Nauru
New Caledonia
Nicaragua
Nigeria
Niue
Northern Mariana Islands
Oman
Pakistan
Palau
Panama
Papua New Guinea
Peru
Philippines
Puerto Rico
Qatar
Russian Federation
Saint Kitts and Nevis
Saint Lucia
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Samoa
San Marino
Saudi Arabia
Senegal
Kosovo: this designation is without prejudice to position on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the IC.

Israel

Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence

Serbia

Seychelles

Singapore

Somalia

South Africa

Suriname

Swaziland

Switzerland

Syrian Arab Republic

Taiwan

Tajikistan

Thailand

Trinidad and Tobago

Tunisia

Turkey

Turkmenistan

Turks and Caicos Islands

Ukraine

**United Arab Emirates** 

**United States** 

Uruguay

**US Virgin Islands** 

Vanuatu

Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

Viet Nam

#### II. List of priority 1 countries (for assessment in 2018)

Within the above 132 jurisdictions identified as falling within the scope of the EU assessment, a "high priority" was assigned to <u>47 jurisdictions</u> on the basis of a set of non-cumulative criteria. Countries are deemed high priority for assessment if they:

- are identified by Europol/EEAS as being exposed to money laundering or terrorist financing threats considering ML/TF risk factors;
- are listed in the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes adopted by the Council of the EU;
- are listed in Regulation (UE) 2016/1675 while they have been de-listed by the FATF between 14 July 2016 and 15 November 2018; OR
- have been subject to Mutual evaluation processes against the FATF recommendations issued in 2012 carried out by FATF / a Financial Style Regional Body (FSRB) where the evaluation report is finalised by June 2018 and the country has been identified by Europol as having a systemic impact on the integrity of the EU financial system.

Third countries in the scope which fulfil one or more of these criteria are due to be assessed in 2018 ("Priority 1"). In addition, the Commission will assess <u>7 jurisdictions</u> that, while being outside the scope of the EU assessment (e.g. due to limited economic ties with the EU), have been listed or delisted by FATF.

The assessment on high risk third countries is an ongoing exercise. Therefore any country may be reassessed in the coming years when new relevant information sources become available.

It is important to stress that the above-mentioned indicators alone are not sufficient to draw conclusions on whether a jurisdiction has strategic deficiencies in its AML/CFT regime. The presence of a jurisdiction on the list only means that it is subject to an assessment by the Commission and given priority status. This does not in any way prejudge the final outcome of these assessments.

#### Reviews of countries within the scope of the EU assessment

Afghanistan

Albania

Algeria

American Samoa

Armenia

Australia

Bahamas

Bangladesh

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Botswana

China

China, Hong Kong SAR

Colombia

Costa Rica

former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Guam

Guatemala

Guyana

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

Iraq

Isle of Man

Libya

Malaysia

Mauritius

Mexico

Morocco

Nigeria

Northern Mariana Islands

Pakistan

Panama

Puerto Rico

**Russian Federation** 

Samoa

Saudi Arabia

Serbia

Singapore

Switzerland

Syrian Arab Republic

Thailand

Trinidad and Tobago

Tunisia

Turkey

Ukraine

**United Arab Emirates** 

**United States** 

**US Virgin Islands** 

Vanuatu

#### **Additional reviews**

## (not within scope of the EU assessment but subject to FATF listing/delisting)

Ethiopia

Korea, Dem. People's Rep. of

Sri Lanka

Uganda

Lao People's Dem. Rep.

Yemen

Ghana

Date: 13.11.2018